Previous PageTable Of Contents

Asian Crop Science Association

The Asian Crop Science Association (ACSA) is a non profit, non stock and non political association consisting of a group of Crop Science and related societies from Asian countries. Details of its structure are on the website ( It was formed in 1992 to organize symposia and other scientific meetings. Conferences have been held in South Korea, Japan, Taiwan and the Philippines. The 5th Conference is being held in Brisbane, Australia, in conjunction with the 4th International Crop Science Congress.

A business meeting will be held at the 4ICSC for representatives of all ACSA-member countries, and representatives of Asian countries that are not yet members of ACSA, but are interested in joining. The main business of the meeting is reviewing the conference and planning future conferences.

ACSA Charter
(from the proceedings of the 2nd ACSA conference)

The pressure to produce more food for an increasing population, diminishing resources and escalating environmental problems focus attention on the need to develop efficient, stable and sustainable crop production systems. To achieve this goal, the cooperation of crop scientists, transcending the boundaries of regions and nations is necessary.

Cognizant of this situation, representatives of Asian and related science societies organized in Kyoto the “Asian Crop Science Association”. This body will convene scientific meetings on a regular basis to disseminate technological advances, share solutions to common crop production constraints, forge scientific cooperation and foster friendship among scientists in order to promote human welfare.

Objective: Membership
Membership shall be open to all related crop science and related science societies, scientists and organizations interested in the objective and programs of the ACSA. There shall be three types of membership.
(a) Institutional membership shall be given to any crop science and related science societies, international and national institutions, and non-profit organizations supporting the ACSA objectives.
(b) Individual membership shall be given to any scientist and individual supporting the ACSA objectives
(c) Sustaining membership shall be given to private institutions and any profit organization supporting the ACSA objectives

Organization and Management
The ACSA is managed by the International Committee, which consists of president, the vice president and the secretary general and a representative of each institutional member, immediate past president and immediate past secretary general. The president and secretary general shall be from the current host society and the vice president from the succeeding host society. The international society has the right to determine the admission for membership, sets the mission of the scientific meetings, recommends structure and topics and decides the host country. The International Committee Meeting shall be convened before the scientific meeting by the host organization.

Co-Presidents: Dr Ken Fisher and Dr John Angus
Vice-President: Dr Leocadio Sebastian
Secretary-General: Dr Andrew Borrell
Committee Member: Professor Shu Fukai

Current International Committee
Australia: Drs Ken Fischer, John Angus and Andrew Borrell
Indonesia: Prof Mansur Ma’shum
Japan: Professor Makie Kokubun
Korea, South: Professor Byon-Woo Lee
Malaysia: To be appointed
Philippines: Dr Leocadio Sebastian
Taiwan: Professor Huu-Sheng Lur
Thailand: Dr Benjavan Rerkasem

New International Committee Members to be appointed in 2004
Bangladesh: Dr Craig Meisner
Cambodia: Dr Men Sarom
Myanmar: Dr U Tun Than
Nepal: Dr Naba Raj Devkota
Papua New Guinea: Dr Segei Bang
Sri Lanka: Dr Buddhi Marambe

Previous PageTop Of Page